Bild – New Relic Chief Executive Officer Bill Staples

Bill Staples

CEO

Bill Staples ist Chief Executive Officer von New Relic und leitet das Unternehmen mit perspektivischem Fokus auf Kunden, Nutzer und Mitarbeiter. Wie schon in seinen Leadership-Positionen im Produkt- und Engineering-Bereich sind für Staples auch in seiner Rolle als CEO Entwickler-, Technologie- und Innovationsthemen besonders zentral. Staples versteht sich als umsetzungsfreudiger CEO mit Hands-on-Mentalität bei der Entwicklung und Skalierung von cloudbasierten Unternehmen und Value-Generierung für Kunden und Nutzer.

Aufbauend auf seiner ersten Rolle als Chief Product Officer von New Relic wurde Staples später auch President und in der Folge CEO. Im Verlauf seiner Tätigkeit bei New Relic gelang es Staples, eine stark kundenorientierte Unternehmens- und Wachstumsstrategie zu entwickeln und zu implementieren. Auch für die Kernstrategie von New Relic One zeichnete Staples verantwortlich: Hierzu gehörte eine Go-to-Market-Neuausrichtung, in deren Rahmen etwa die Paket- und Preisoptionen grundlegend überarbeitet und klarer an die Value-Chancen für Kunden wie Entwickler-Community adaptiert wurden. Besonders stark macht sich Staples auch für die Themen Open Source und Open Telemetry. Er agierte so auch bei der Übernahme von Pixie Labs Ende 2020 federführend. 

Vor seiner Rolle bei New Relic war er bei Adobe tätig und leitete dort das 1500 Mitarbeiter starke Engineering-Team hinter der Experience Cloud des Unternehmens. Vorher wiederum hatte Staples 17 Jahre bei Microsoft gearbeitet, zuletzt als Corporate Vice President für dessen Anwendungsplattform. Sowohl bei Microsoft als auch bei Adobe leitete Staples federführend Produkt-, Unternehmenskultur- und Technologie-Initiativen mit strategisch maßgeblicher transformativer Bedeutung. Infolge dieser war es beiden Unternehmen möglich, ihre Cloud-Portfolios signifikant auszubauen.

 

 

Image of New Relic Chief Sales Officer Steve Hurn

Steve Hurn

Chief Sales Officer

Steve Hurn ist unser Chief Sales Officer und agierte zuvor als Executive Vice President of EMEA Sales. Er schloss sich New Relic von TIBCO Software an, wo er die Rolle als President of Worldwide Sales bekleidet und dabei alle Vertriebsaktivitäten auf regionaler Ebene, sowie für Presales, High-Velocity und Partner Sales verantwortet hatte. Zuvor war er Head of EMEA Sales und SVP Worldwide Sales gewesen. In seiner Laufbahn vor TIBCO und New Relic konnte sich Hurn bereits in Führungsrollen bei SAP und Oracle sowie als CEO mehrerer Start-ups auszeichnen.

Bild – New Relic Chief Customer Officer Rey Perez

Rey Perez

Chief Customer Officer

Rey Perez ist unser Chief Customer Officer.  Mit den Mitarbeitern in seinem Unternehmensbereich verantwortet er alle Kundenbeziehungen auf globaler Ebene, um die value-orientierte Implementierung unserer Technologien strategisch zu begleiten. Perez und Team agieren dabei als starke Partner bei der Umsetzung von Geschäftszielen mit der New Relic One Observability-Plattform. Vor seiner Tätigkeit bei New Relic war Perez mit der Wertsicherung komplexer Business- und IT-Lösungen für Fortune 500-Kunden betraut. In diesem Zusammenhang leitete er verschiedene Geschäftsbereiche bei der Umsetzung von Kundeninitiativen in der digitalen Transformation, Cloud-Migration und -Platforming, in der operativen Optimierung und zur ROI-Planung. Unter Perez' Leitung der Bereiche Design, Anwendungsarchitektur und Implementierung von SAP-Lösungen entstanden technische Konzepte und Entwicklungs-Frameworks für über 400 Kunden von Sun Microsystems. In seiner bereits über 25 Jahre währenden Karriere hat er bereits diverse Rollen als Consultant, Berater und Change-Leader bekleidet. Perez hat einen Master-Abschluss in Software Engineering von der Stanford University und einen Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering von der University of Massachusetts at Amherst.

Bild – New Relic Chief Growth Officer Manav Khurana

Manav Khurana

Chief Growth Officer

Manav Khurana ist Chief Growth Officer von New Relic. Gemeinsam mit seinem Team entwickelt er globale Marketinginitiativen und Self-Service-Produkterlebnisse. Engineers können vor allem dann ihre beste Arbeit leisten, so glaubt Khurana, wenn es ihnen ermöglicht wird, eine stark datengestützte Methodik zu verfolgen. Durch eine intelligente Symbiose aus produktzentrierten Ansätzen und Sales-Strategien ist es ihm schon mehrfach mit großem Erfolg gelungen, neue Technologiesegmente zu etablieren. 

Zu Beginn seiner Laufbahn bei New Relic fungierte Khurana als SVP und Product GM. In diesem Rahmen implementierte er auch das verbrauchsorientierte Geschäftsmodell, das New Relic heute verfolgt. Zuvor war er in Leadership-Rollen im Produkt- und Marketingbereich bei Twilio, InVision, Aruba (HPE) und Motorola tätig gewesen. Khurana verfügt über einen Bachelor of Science in Electrical & Computer Engineering von der University of Rochester und einen MBA von der Santa Clary University.

Bild – New Relic Chief Operating Officer Kristy Friedrichs

Kristy Friedrichs

Chief Operating Officer

Kristy Friedrichs ist Chief Operating Officer von New Relic. Sie zeichnet verantwortlich für das operative Geschäft bei New Relic, Geschäftssysteme und -anwendungen, Data Analytics und Engineering, alle strategischen und operativen Sales-Aspekte sowie Product Operations. Passioniert verfolgt sie ihr persönliches Business-Mantra, aus Strategien Realität zu machen. Für Friedrichs dabei besonders entscheidend: eine Vision und Mission, die das gesamte Unternehmen unterstützt, gekoppelt mit klaren Zielen und Prioritäten sowie bereichsübergreifender Zusammenarbeit. In eng aufeinander abgestimmten Teams und von Vertrauen geprägten Partnerschaften sieht sie dabei das Fundament für alle operativen Erfolge. Dabei soll es allen Mitarbeitern möglich sein, sich mit ihren individuellen Skillsets und ihrer einzigartigen Persönlichkeit bei New Relic einzubringen. Vor ihrer Rolle als COO war sie mehr als 4 Jahre Chief People Officer bei New Relic. Friedrichs schloss sich New Relic 2017 nach über 15 Jahren bei Bain & Company an. Begonnen hatte sie ihre Tätigkeit dort zunächst als Principal Consultant. Zuletzt war sie Director of Consulting Operations für die San Francisco Bay Area gewesen. Sie hat einen Bachelor of Science in Wirtschaftswissenschaften von der Duke University und einen Master of Business Administration von der Harvard Business School.

Bild – New Relic Chief Financial Officer Mark Sachleben

Mark Sachleben

Chief Financial Officer

Mark Sachleben ist Chief Financial Officer von New Relic und seit dem Start des Unternehmens im Jahr 2008 an Bord. Sachleben steuert die Finanzstrategie und das Berichtswesen des Unternehmens. Ihm unterstehen zudem die Bereiche Recht, Sicherheit und IT. Er legt großen Wert auf eine Kombination aus geschäftlichem Wachstum und betrieblicher Effizienz. Sachleben arbeitet seit 1999 mit New Relic Gründer und CEO Lew Cirne zusammen. So etwa in seiner Funktion als Vice President Finance bei Wily Technology, einem Unternehmen für Application Performance Management. Er ist Mitglied in den Kuratorien der San Francisco Friends School und der Marin Academy. Sachleben hat einen MBA der Stanford University und weitere Abschlüsse auf Bachelor-Niveau im Bereich Engineering sowie im Maschinenbau vom Dartmouth College.

Bild – New Relic Chief People & and Diversity Officer Tracy Williams

Tracy Williams

Chief People & Diversity Officer

Als Chief People Officer zeichnet Tracy Williams für alle Strategien rund um unsere Mitarbeiter- und Arbeitgeberkultur, Diversität, Gleichberechtigung und Inklusion im Einklang mit Unternehmenszielen und Kernwerten verantwortlich. Ein Umfeld mit Gemeinschaftssinn, in dem alle Mitarbeiter sich zugehörig, unterstützt und motiviert fühlen, ist für Williams dabei oberstes Ziel wie tagtäglich neue Aufgabe, die sie mit großer Leidenschaft verfolgt. Vor ihrer Tätigkeit bei New Relic war Williams in leitender Funktion mit allen HR-Themen für das operative Geschäft an der US-Westküste bei Conversant betraut. Sie verfügt über mehr als 15 Jahre Erfahrung im Personalwesen, so auch in regionalen Führungspositionen bei Target (Mervyns) und Michaels Arts & Crafts. Williams hat einen Bachelor of Arts in Soziologie von der University of California at Berkeley und einen Abschluss in Rechtswissenschaften vom Hastings College of Law der University of California.

 

Image of New Relic Chief Data Officer Anita Lynch

Anita Lynch

Chief Data Officer 

Anita Lynch ist Chief Data Officer von New Relic. Sie verfügt über weitreichende datenfokussierte Leadership-Erfahrung in verschiedenen Bereichen – von Data Strategy, Data Architecture und Engineering bis hin zu Analytics, Data Science und Data Governance. Wichtiges Kernelement der langfristigen Wachstumsstrategie von New Relic ist es, Daten und ihre Möglichkeiten der Engineering- und Entwickler-Community vollumfänglich verfügbar zu machen. Als erster Chief Data Officer von New Relic gestaltet Lynch diese Ausrichtung mit ihrer umfassenden Expertise in der strategischen Entwicklung wichtiger Business-Prioritäten und -Chancen auf Basis von Daten federführend. 

Geleitet hat sie Teams speziell bei Tech-Innovatoren wie Apple, Yahoo, Amazon und zuletzt Disney Streaming. Als Expertin für Technologie-, Daten- und Strategiethemen versteht es Lynch hervorragend, Unternehmen auch konsultativ zu unterstützen. Sie berät hierbei zur Entwicklung von Wettbewerbsvorteilen mithilfe von Daten und war in diesem Zuge bereits am Aufbau diverser Plattformen in Start-ups wie auch im Enterprise-Kontext beteiligt. Nach Abschluss ihres MBA an der Harvard Business School 2008 war Lynch zunächst bis 2011 als Management Consultant bei Bain & Company tätig.

 

Bild – New Relic Senior Vice President Strategy Wayne Purboo

Wayne Purboo

Senior Vice President, Strategy

Wayne Purboo fungiert als SVP Strategy bei New Relic und ist für die strategische Ausrichtung der Produkt- und Kundensegmente verantwortlich. Zuvor war er SVP Product bei der AT&T Entertainment Group, leitete dort im Videobereich Produktstrategie, Roadmap-Entwicklung und Performance Management für DIRECTV, U-verse und OTT sowie die Integration der Quickplay-Plattform. Quickplay Media selbst hatte Purboo im Jahr 2003 gegründet und bis zur Übernahme durch AT&T 2016 als CEO geführt. In seiner Laufbahn hatte der Tech-Veteran in 25 Jahren bereits mehrere Leadership-Rollen bei Start-ups wie auch bei Marktführern wie Amdocs, Solect (später von Amdocs übernommen) und Network Computing Devices (NCD) inne. Branchenübergreifende Anerkennung erhielt Purboo im Zuge von Auszeichnungen bei den Top 40 under 40 in Kanada, den dortigen Spotlight Awards und vor Kurzem in Form des Vice Chancellor Award der University of the West Indies.

Lew Cirne

Gründer und Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats

Lew Cirne ist Gründer und Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats von New Relic. Er führte das Unternehmen als CEO von seiner Gründung 2008 bis Juni 2021. Angeleitet wurde Cirne stets von seiner Begeisterung für Innovationsthemen und seinem Wunsch, einen Beitrag geschäftlicher, technologischer und gesellschaftlicher Natur auf globaler Ebene zu leisten. In diesem Zuge engagiert sich Cirne als Entwickler, Technologie-Leader und Produktvisionär.

Getreu der Prämisse „For the love of software“ stand hinter New Relic von Anfang an das Ziel, Anwendungsperformance mittels SaaS präziser erfassbar zu machen als je zuvor. Ergebnis war dabei etwa APM-as-a-Service sowie die weltweit erste Multi-Tenant-Telemetriedatenbank zur Entwicklung von perfektionierter Software: NRDB. Unter Cirnes Leitung entstand mit New Relic One auch die erste programmierbare Observability-Plattform, die den Grundstein für das Observability-Segment selbst und die Marktführerschaft von New Relic in diesem Technologiebereich legen sollte. Auch an mehr als 20 US-Patenten ist Cirne beteiligt. Mittlerweile ist aus New Relic eine umfassende Observability-Plattform erwachsen, die Unternehmen weltweit zu Transparenz und Programmierbarkeit für ihren gesamten Tech-Stack verhilft.

Cirne leistete schon 1998 Pionierarbeit in punkto Application Performance Monitoring, als er Wily Technology gründete, ein Unternehmen, das er bis 2006 als CEO leiten sollte. Unter seiner Führung wurde in diesem Zuge auch der erste Bytecode-Instrumentierungsagent entwickelt, der wiederum das Fundament für den APM-Markt in seiner heutigen Form bildet. Seine Karriere startete der Vollblut-Entwickler im Engineering bei Apple und Hummingbird Communications. Cirne ist zudem regelmäßiger Gastdozent zu den Themen Unternehmensführung und Innovation an den Universitäten von Stanford und Harvard. Er hat einen Abschluss in Informatik vom Dartmouth College.

Hope Cochran

Hope Cochran ist seit Mai 2018 Mitglied des Aufsichtsrats von New Relic. Sie ist ebenso Managing Director der Madrona Venture Group, der sie seit Januar 2017 als Venture-Partner angehört. Von September 2013 bis Juni 2016 fungierte sie als Chief Financial Officer des Gaming-Unternehmens King Digital Entertainment, das im Februar 2016 von Activision Blizzard übernommen wurde. Vor ihrer Tätigkeit bei King Digital war Cochran von Februar 2011 bis zu dessen Übernahme durch Sprint, Inc. im Juli 2013 Chief Financial Officer des Telekommunikationsunternehmens Clearwire Corporation. Zuvor übte Cochran verschiedene Funktionen in der Software-Branche aus, unter anderem bei PeopleSoft, Evant und SkillsVillage, einem von ihr gegründeten Unternehmen für HR-Software. Derzeit ist sie Mitglied des Aufsichtsrats von Hasbro und MongoDB. Sie hat einen Bachelor of Arts in Wirtschaft und Musik von der Stanford University.

Anne DelSanto

Anne DelSanto ist Teilhaberin mit beschränkter Haftung der Beteiligungskapitalgesellschaften Operator Collective und Stage 2 Capital. DelSanto blickt auf eine Karriere von mehr als drei Jahrzehnten als Tech Executive bei führenden Unternehmen zurück, denen sie zu exponentiellem Wachstum verholfen hat. In ihrer Rolle als EVP und Platform General Manager bei Salesforce war sie federführend verantwortlich für die branchenführenden Plattform-Services des Unternehmens. Hierzu gehörten etwa die Lightning Builder Technologie, Heroku, IoT und AppExchange, der führende Marktplatz für Business-Anwendungen. Vor ihrer Tätigkeit bei Salesforce war DelSanto Group Vice President Sales Engineering bei Oracle. Begonnen hatte sie ihre Karriere bei IBM als Account Systems Engineer. In dieser Rolle entwickelte sie über mehrere Jahre hinweg Lösungen für die Gesundheitsbranche. DelSanto ist ebenso Mitglied im Aufsichtsrat von Juniper Networks sowie von Advanced Energy Industries. Sie hat einen Bachelor-Abschluss der St. John's University in Mathematik mit Fokus auf Informatik sowie einen Master-Abschluss in Verwaltungswissenschaften vom Boston College.

David Henshall

David Henshall ist President und Chief Executive Officer von Citrix. In seiner bereits 30 Jahre währenden Laufbahn im Tech-Management bekleidete er zuvor unter anderem Positionen als Chief Operating und Chief Financial Officer von Citrix. Vor seiner Tätigkeit bei Citrix agierte Henshall als Chief Financial Officer von Rational Software (inzwischen Geschäftsbereich von IBM) und zudem in mehreren Rollen im Finance-Bereich bei Cypress Semiconductor und Samsung. Er ist außerdem Mitglied des Aufsichtsrats von Citrix. Henshall verfügt über einen Bachelor-Abschluss in Betriebswirtschaftslehre der University of Arizona und einen MBA von der Santa Clara University.

Adam Messinger

Adam Messinger ist seit April 2014 im Aufsichtsrat von New Relic. Von März 2013 bis Dezember 2016 war Messinger Chief Technology Officer bei Twitter. Ab November 2011 hatte er dort zunächst als Vice President Platform Development und von April 2012 an als Vice President Application Development fungiert. Von Januar 2008 bis November 2011 war Messinger Vice President Development bei Oracle. Er hat einen Bachelor of Science in Physik und Informatik von der Willamette University und einen Master of Science in Management von der Stanford University.

Dan Scholnick

Dan Scholnick ist seit Oktober 2008 Mitglied des Aufsichtsrats von New Relic. Aktuell ist er General Partner bei der Four Rivers Group, einer Beteiligungskapitalgesellschaft. Zuvor bekleidete er ab September 2007 verschiedene Rollen bei Trinity Ventures, so unter anderem als General Partner von 2010 bis Juni 2019. Vor dieser Tätigkeit arbeitete er bei SVB Capital, dem Unternehmensbereich für Venture-Capital-Investments der SVB Financial Group, dies von 2004 bis 2005, als er mit Flurry Inc. ein Unternehmen für Mobile Analytics Software gründete. Er hat einen Bachelor of Arts in Informatik vom Dartmouth College und einen Master of Business Administration von der Harvard Business School.

James Tolonen

James Tolonen ist seit Mai 2016 Mitglied im Aufsichtsrat von New Relic. Von Januar 2003 bis zur Übernahme durch SAP im Januar 2008 war Tolonen Senior Group Vice President und Chief Financial Officer von Business Objects S.A., einem Anbieter von Enterprise-Software. Für SAP blieb Tolonen schließlich bis September 2008 tätig. Von Oktober 1999 bis Dezember 2002 fungierte er als Chief Financial Officer und Chief Operating Officer sowie Mitglied des Aufsichtsrats von IGN Entertainment Inc., einem Anbieter im Bereich Online-Medien und -Services. Von April bis September 1998 war er President und Chief Financial Officer von Cybermedia, einem Entwickler von Software für Anwendersicherheit und -Performance und dort zudem von August 1996 bis September 1998 Mitglied des Aufsichtsrats. Auch bei Novell Inc., einem Anbieter für Enterprise-Software, agierte Tolonen als Chief Financial Officer, dies von Juni 1989 bis April 1998. Aktuell gehört er dem Aufsichtsrat von MobileIron an und übte diese Rolle zuvor auch bei Imperva, Blue Coat Systems und Taleo aus. Tolonen hat einen Bachelor of Science in Maschinenbau und einen Master of Business Administration von der University of Michigan.

RK Mahendran

Radhakrishnan (RK) Mahendran ist Partner bei HMI Capital Management, L.P. und Mitglied des Investment-Komitees. Zusätzlich leitet er dort den Bereich für Software-Investments. Zuvor war er bei Thomas H. Lee Partners tätig, einer führenden privaten Kapitalbeteiligungsgesellschaft aus Boston, sowie bei Goldman Sachs im Investment Banking. RK verfügt über einen BBA von der University of Texas at Austin und ist Board President des San Francisco Education Fund, einer Non-Profit-Organisation, die sozial benachteiligte Schüler unterstützt.

Caroline Watteeuw Carlisle

Caroline Watteeuw Carlisle ist seit August 2018 Mitglied des Aufsichtsrats von New Relic. Derzeit ist sie Chief Technology Officer bei Corten Capital und agiert als versierte Beraterin für verschiedene CEOs und C-Levels. Von Juni 2016 bis Februar 2019 fungierte sie als Executive Vice President und Chief Information Officer von Calibre Home Loans. Vorher war sie Technology Officer bei Warburg Pincus LLC. Hier unterstützte sie das Unternehmen bei der Evaluierung von Tech-Architekturen und stand seinen Portfoliogesellschaften beratend zur Seite.  Zuvor war Watteeuw Carlisle in verschiedenen Funktionen bei PepsiCo, Inc. tätig, unter anderem als Chief Information Officer für Nordamerika sowie als Global Chief Technology Officer und Senior Vice President für Business Information Solutions. Vor ihrer Tätigkeit bei PepsiCo hatte sie verschiedene Tech-Rollen inne, so etwa bei der iFormation Group, TradingEdge und der Credit Suisse Group AG. Watteeuw Carlisle war Mitglied im Aufsichtsrat von Capgemini SE und gehört seit November 2015 dem Kuratorium des New York Institute of Technology an. Sie hat einen Engineering-Abschluss der Universität Gent in Belgien und einen Master of Science in Chemieingenieurwesen und Bioverfahrenstechnik von der Universität of Pennsylvania.

Get instant Kubernetes observability—no agents required. Meet Pixie Auto-telemetry

Leadership

Our leadership team brings deep experience in leading growth organizations through cloud and digital transformation. Together they are passionately focused on making Observability a data-driven approach and daily practice at every stage of the software lifecycle to help millions of engineers globally create more perfect software for their companies and customers.

Image of New Relic Chief Executive Officer Bill Staples

Bill Staples

CEO

Bill Staples is New Relic’s chief executive officer, responsible for leading the company into the future in support of its customers, users, and their success. A product and engineering leader his entire career, Staples brings his passion for developers, technology and innovation to his role at New Relic where he’s focused on empowering the engineering community to create more perfect software. Staples is an execution-focused leader who loves to build and scale cloud-based businesses to deliver increasing value to customers and users. 

Staples joined New Relic as chief product officer and was later promoted to president and CPO prior to his promotion to CEO. During that tenure, he has aligned the company around a compelling vision focused on customers and their success, and developed and launched a strategic plan to accelerate the company’s growth. He defined the core strategy for New Relic One including a simpler go to market for the company’s observability platform, fundamentally changing its packaging and pricing around the value delivered to customers and the developer community. Additionally, he has been a champion for the company’s embrace of open source and open telemetry, and was instrumental in the company’s recent acquisition of Pixie Labs

Previously Staples was at Adobe, where he led the 1,500+ employee global engineering team behind Adobe’s market-leading Experience Cloud. Prior to Adobe, Staples spent 17 years at Microsoft, including his last role as corporate vice president of Microsoft’s Application platform. At both Microsoft and Adobe, he successfully led transformative product, culture and technical innovation agendas, helping both companies expand multi-billion dollar cloud portfolios with engineers, developers and IT as the customer.

 

 

Image of New Relic Chief Sales Officer Steve Hurn

Steve Hurn

Chief Sales Officer

Steve Hurn is New Relic’s chief sales officer, having previously served as New Relic’s executive vice president of EMEA Sales. He joined New Relic from TIBCO Software, where he served as president of worldwide sales, responsible for all regional sales, global pre-sales, high-velocity sales, and partner sales. Previously, he served as head of EMEA sales, and SVP of worldwide sales. Prior to joining TIBCO, Hurn held senior roles at SAP, Oracle, and served as CEO at several startups.

Image of New Relic Chief Customer Officer Rey Perez

Rey Perez

Chief Customer Officer

Rey Perez is New Relic’s chief customer officer.  He manages the relationships with all customers globally to ensure they are achieving value and success using New Relic. His focus is on execution excellence and value realization for customers deploying the New Relic One observability platform. Prior to New Relic, Rey was responsible for driving the success of large complex business and IT solutions for Fortune 500 customers, and has led a number of organizations in solving customer challenges with a focus on digital transformation, cloud migration, cloud platforms, organizational optimization, and ROI. Rey has led technical teams to design and architect application solutions for more than 400 customers, while at Sun Microsystems where he led the design, architecture, and implementation of global SAP solutions. Rey has worked as a consultant, advisor, and change agent over his 25+ year career. Rey holds a Masters in Software Engineering from Monmouth University and a Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst.

Image of New Relic Chief Growth Officer Manav Khurana

Manav Khurana

Chief Growth Officer

Manav Khurana is New Relic’s chief growth officer. He and his team are responsible for global marketing programs and building self-service product experiences. He is passionate about empowering engineers to take a data-driven approach and do their best work. He brings deep experience in creating new technology categories by merging product-led and sales-led growth strategies. 

Khurana joined New Relic as SVP, Product GM and implemented the company’s consumption business model. Prior to New Relic, he held product and marketing leadership roles at Twilio, InVision, Aruba (HPE), and Motorola. Khurana holds a Bachelor of Science of Electrical and Computer Engineering degree from the University of Rochester and a Masters degree in Business Administration from Santa Clara University.

Image of New Relic Chief Operating Officer Kristy Friedrichs

Kristy Friedrichs

Chief Operating Officer

Kristy Friedrichs is New Relic’s chief operating officer. As COO, Friedrichs oversees corporate operations, business systems and applications, data analytics and engineering, sales strategy and operations and product operations. She is passionate about what she calls ‘turning strategy into reality’: aligning the company around an inspiring vision, mission and strategy; establishing goals and clear priorities toward achieving that strategy; and enabling cross-functional execution against those goals. She believes that aligned teams with high trust are the foundation of good execution, and works to empower all employees to execute against business goals by bringing their best, authentic selves to work every day. Friedrichs has served as chief people officer at New Relic for more than 4 years. Prior to New Relic, she spent more than 15 years at Bain & Company, first as a consulting principal and most recently as the head of consulting operations for the Bay Area. She holds a Master of Business Administration from Harvard Business School and a Bachelor of Science in Economics from Duke University.

Image of New Relic Chief Financial Officer Mark Sachleben

Mark Sachleben

Chief Financial Officer

Mark Sachleben is New Relic’s chief financial officer and has been since the company’s start in 2008. Sachleben drives the company’s financial strategy and reporting, and also oversees legal, security, and IT. He is passionate about driving high growth metrics while also improving operating efficiency. Sachleben has partnered with New Relic’s CEO and founder, Lew Cirne, since 1999, previously serving as vice president of finance at Wily Technology, an application performance company. Sachleben has served on the board of the San Francisco Friends School and is currently a board member at Marin Academy. He holds a Master of Business Administration from Stanford University, and a Bachelor of Arts in Engineering and Science and a Bachelor of Science in Fluid and Mechanical Engineering from Dartmouth College.

Image of New Relic Chief People and Diversity Officer Tracy Williams

Tracy Williams

Chief People and Diversity Officer

Tracy Williams is New Relic’s chief people and diversity officer. Williams oversees the company’s people strategy and its diversity, equity and inclusion strategy in support of the company’s business goals, culture and core values. She is passionate about building a culture and community where all Relics are engaged, supported and motivated, and have a strong sense of belonging, allowing them to do their best work for our customers and each other every day. Prior to joining New Relic, Williams was the HR leader responsible for full scale HR support for the west coast operations of Conversant/CJ Affiliate (a marketing technology company). She has more than 15 years of HR experience including holding regional HR leadership positions with Target (Mervyns), and Michaels Arts & Crafts stores. Williams holds a Bachelor of Arts in Sociology from the University of California, Berkeley, and a Juris Doctor from the University of California, Hastings College of Law.

 

Image of New Relic Chief Data Officer Anita Lynch

Anita Lynch

Chief Data Officer 

Anita is New Relic’s Chief Data Officer, leading the company's data strategy, data architecture and engineering, analytics, data science and data governance efforts. As New Relic’s first chief data officer, Lynch is responsible for extracting the business value from our data to drive our long-term growth strategy of putting the power of data in the hands of the world’s software engineers and developers. 

Lynch has led enterprise teams for major tech innovators including Apple, Yahoo, Amazon and most recently Disney Streaming. As an expert in tech, data and strategy, she has led and advised organizations to successfully achieve competitive advantage through data, and effectively scaled data platforms in businesses ranging from startups to global enterprises. Lynch was a management consultant at Bain & Company until 2011 after completing her master’s degree in business administration from Harvard Business School in 2008.

 

Image of New Relic Senior Vice President of Strategy Wayne Purboo

Wayne Purboo

Senior Vice President of Strategy

Wayne Purboo is New Relic’s SVP of strategy, leading strategy for the company’s product and customer efforts. Prior to New Relic, Purboo was SVP of product for AT&T Entertainment Group, responsible for video product strategy, roadmap and performance for DIRECTV, U-verse, OTT products, as well as the integration of the Quickplay platform. Purboo founded Quickplay Media in 2003 and led the company as CEO until its acquisition by AT&T in 2016. A 25-year technology veteran, Purboo has held a number of leadership roles with technology startups and industry leaders, including Amdocs,  Solect (purchased by Amdocs), and Network Computing Devices (NCD). Purboo has been recognized by Canada's Top 40 under 40, Deloitte Fast 50, Canada's Spotlight Awards, and most recently by the University of the West Indies with the Vice Chancellor's Award.

Board of Directors

Lew Cirne

Founder & Executive Chairman of the Board

Lew Cirne is New Relic’s founder and executive chairman of the board. He led the company as CEO from its founding in 2008 through June 2021. With a passion for innovation and desire to have a broader impact on the world, business and technology, Cirne has spent his career as an inventor, technologist, strategist and visionary leader. 

Cirne founded New Relic to bring unprecedented visibility into application performance all for the love of software. There he invented APM-as-a-Service as well as NRDB, the world’s first and most powerful multi-tenant telemetry database built to create more perfect software. He also collaborated to bring New Relic One to life as the world’s first programmable observability platform and the foundation for the creation of the observability category that New Relic leads today. Cirne is the sole inventor or co-inventor of more than 20 US patents. Under Cirne’s leadership, New Relic has grown its offering into a complete observability platform, delivering powerful full-stack visibility and programmability to enterprises and hyper-growth startups globally. 

As the pioneer of modern Application Performance Management, Cirne previously founded Wily Technology and led the company as CEO from 1998 to 2006. There he invented the first bytecode instrumentation agent that served as the foundation for today’s APM market. A developer at heart, Cirne started his career in engineering positions at Apple and Hummingbird Communications. Cirne is a frequent guest lecturer at Stanford and Harvard, speaking on entrepreneurship, leadership and innovation. He holds a Bachelor of Arts in Computer Science from Dartmouth College.

Hope Cochran

Hope Cochran has served as a member of New Relic’s board since May 2018. Cochran is currently a managing director at Madrona Venture Group, where she has served as a venture partner since January 2017. From September 2013 to June 2016, she served as the chief financial officer of the gaming company King Digital Entertainment plc, which was acquired by Activision Blizzard, Inc. in February 2016. Prior to King Digital, Cochran served as the chief financial officer of Clearwire Corporation, a telecommunications operator, from February 2011 until its acquisition by Sprint, Inc. in July 2013. Previously, she has held several roles in the software industry, including at PeopleSoft, Inc., Evant Inc. and SkillsVillage Inc., a human resources software company that she founded. Cochran currently serves on the board of directors of Hasbro, Inc. and MongoDB, Inc. She received a Bachelor of Arts in Economics and Music from Stanford University.

Anne DelSanto

Anne DelSanto is a limited partner at Operator Collective and Stage 2 Capital venture funds, and a veteran technology executive with more than three decades of experience driving organizations towards exponential growth. As EVP and GM of Salesforce Platform, she led the company’s industry-leading platform services including low-code lightning builders, Heroku, IoT and AppExchange, the number one business app marketplace. Prior to Salesforce, DelSanto served as group vice president of sales engineering at Oracle. She began her career as an account systems engineer with IBM, where she spent several years building solutions for the healthcare market. She serves on the boards of directors at Juniper Networks and Advanced Energy Industries, Inc. Anne graduated from St. John's University with a B.S. in Mathematics with a concentration in Computer Science and earned an M.S. in Administrative Studies from Boston College.

David Henshall

David Henshall is president & chief executive officer at Citrix. He brings 30 years of technology management experience, including serving as chief operating officer and chief financial officer of Citrix, overseeing the company’s worldwide finance, operations and administration organizations. Prior to joining Citrix, he served as chief financial officer of Rational Software Corporation, a software company acquired by IBM Corporation, and also held various finance positions at Cypress Semiconductor and Samsung. He serves as a member of the board of directors at Citrix. Henshall holds a B.S. in Business Administration from University of Arizona and a M.B.A. from Santa Clara University.

Adam Messinger

Adam Messinger has served as a member of New Relic’s board since April 2014. From March 2013 until December 2016, Messinger served as the chief technology officer of Twitter, Inc., an online social media company, where he previously served as vice president of application development from April 2012 to March 2013, and vice president of platform development from November 2011 to April 2012. Prior to that, he was vice president of development at Oracle Corporation, a computer technology company, from January 2008 to November 2011. He holds a Bachelor of Science in Physics and Computer Science from Willamette University and a Master of Science in Management from Stanford University.

Dan Scholnick

Dan Scholnick has served as a member of New Relic’s board since October 2008. Scholnick is currently a General Partner at Four Rivers Group, a venture capital firm. Previously, he served in various roles at Trinity Ventures, a venture capital firm, from September 2007 to June 2019, and served as General Partner from 2010 until June 2019. Prior to that, he worked at SVB Capital, the venture capital investment arm of SVB Financial Group, from 2004 to 2005, and founded Flurry, Inc., a mobile analytics software company, in 2005. He holds a Bachelor of Arts in Computer Science from Dartmouth College and a Master of Business Administration from Harvard Business School.

James Tolonen

James Tolonen has served as a member of New Relic’s board since May 2016. Tolonen served as the senior group vice president and chief financial officer of Business Objects, S.A., an enterprise software solutions provider, where he was responsible for its finance and administration commencing in January 2003 until its acquisition by SAP AG in January 2008. He remained with SAP AG until September 2008. Tolonen served as the chief financial officer and chief operating officer and a member of the board of directors of IGN Entertainment Inc., an Internet media and service provider, from October 1999 to December 2002. He served as president and chief financial officer of Cybermedia, a PC user security and performance software provider, from April 1998 to September 1998, where he also served as a member of the board of directors from August 1996 to September 1998. Tolonen served as chief financial officer of Novell, Inc., an enterprise software provider, from June 1989 to April 1998. He currently serves on the board of directors of MobileIron, Inc. Tolonen previously served on the boards of directors of Imperva, Inc., Blue Coat Systems, Inc. and Taleo Corporation. Tolonen holds a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering and a Master of Business Administration from University of Michigan.

RK Mahendran

Radhakrishnan (RK) Mahendran currently serves as Partner, Software Sector Head, and Member of the Investment Committee at HMI Capital Management, L.P. Prior to joining HMI Capital in 2014, RK worked at Thomas H. Lee Partners, a leading private equity firm based in Boston, and at Goldman Sachs within their Investment Banking Division. RK graduated from the University of Texas at Austin with a BBA in 2009. RK serves as Board President of the San Francisco Education Fund, a non-profit in SF supporting underserved public-school students.

Caroline Watteeuw Carlisle

Caroline Watteeuw Carlisle has served as a member of New Relic’s board since August 2018. Through Innovation Through Technology, she currently serves as the Chief Technology Officer of Corten Capital and acts as a senior technology advisor to chief executive officers and corporate boards. She served as executive vice president and chief information officer of Caliber Home Loans, Inc. from June 2016 until February 2019. Previously, she served as a technology officer at Warburg Pincus LLC supporting their technology due diligence process and advising their portfolio companies.  Prior to that, Watteeuw Carlisle served in various roles at PepsiCo, Inc., including chief information officer for North America, and global chief technology officer and senior vice president business information solutions. Before PepsiCo, Inc., she held several technology roles, including at iFormation Group, TradingEdge and Credit Suisse Group AG. Watteeuw Carlisle served on the board of directors of Capgemini SE and has been a trustee of New York Institute of Technology since November 2015. She received an Engineering degree at the University of Ghent in Belgium and a Master of Science in Chemical and Biochemical Engineering from the University of Pennsylvania.